Hades Is The First Ever Game To Win A Hugo Award

Supergiant Games took the Best Video Games, beating out Spiritfire and Final Fantasy 7 Remake.
(Credit: Supergiant Games).

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest stories and updates.

The Hugo Award is an annual literary award that celebrates science fiction and fantasy works. Not limiting themselves to traditional media they recently included categories such as Best Fanzine and Best Fancast — for podcast or video series.

This year, for the first time ever, the Hugo Awards included the Best Video Game category and Hades was the first game to win the award.

To little surprise, it beat out other nominees which includes Spiritfarer, The Last of Us 2, Animal Crossing: New Horizons, Final Fantasy 7 Remake, and Blaseball.

Hades is a rougelike by Supergiant Games. It tells a story of Zagreus the son of Hades, who wants to escape the underworld, find his mother, and discover the truth about himself.

The game was lauded for its character, writing, music, as well as for it’s masterfully designed gameplay.

If the name Supergiant sounds familiar to you, that’s perhaps because they are also the folks responsible for Bastion, Transistor, and Pyre, all critically acclaimed games in their own right.

Unfortunately, the game’s writer and creative director, Greg Kasavin — who also voiced Hypnos in Hades — could not make it to the award ceremony and took to Twitter to post his acceptance speech on behalf of Supergiant Games.

Share your thoughts with us via TechTRP's Facebook, Twitter and Telegram channel for the latest stories and updates.

Previous Post

Xiaomi Releases The Upgrade To Its Popular Mi TV Stick

Next Post

Waze Adding Map Support For EV Charging Stations In The US

Related Posts